The new album Drunk Sluts Forever comprises 10 songs about life, death, addiction, suicide, betrayal, American nationalism—and one really sassy T-shirt—by LA-based musician and writer, Liam Gowing. A DIY project recorded completely within the confines of Gowing’s “Purdizzy” home studio, it features just Gowing on meticulously layered vocals and an extensive array of instruments—guitar, bass, piano, drums, harmonica, recorder, tambourine, castanets and shakers as well as (through the magic of a MIDI keyboard) organ, synth, electric piano, vibraphone, steelpan, strings, horns and woodwinds—along with a smattering of public domain sound effects and percussion loops. The result is an eclectic assemblage of maximalist power pop encrusted with chunks of stoner rock, psychedelic funk, surrealist disco and electronica plus a Gothic-cum-sci-fi Western instrumental, two or three classical interludes, a hip-hop influenced funeral march and even a quasi-country tune complete with a Bluegrass guitar solo.
Instigated by 1000 Clowns alum Jerry “Mr” Pao, who volunteered to perform engineering duties in exchange for a place to crash (the master bedroom of course), the recording sessions were mixed by guitarist and onetime DJ Bill O’Neil. Turned over to Jon Griffin at LunaZen Studios for a penultimate polish, the final results were mastered for compact disc by Mark Chalecki at Little Red Book Mastering.
-All songs, instruments and vocals by Liam Gowing © 2013

DOWNLOAD the songs at iTunes or Google Play

ORDER CDs or DOWNLOAD at CD Baby or Amazon

STREAM the songs at Spotify or Napster.

SOUNDCLOUD the songs by clicking the image below…